The Galapagos Islands are an archipelago in the eastern Pacific Ocean and lie on the equator. They belong to the South American country Ecuador. The word Galapago (bulge saddle) can be attributed to the turtle shells which are curved like a saddle in the neck region of the Galapagos Giant Tortoise. The unusual and unique flora and fauna of the island have been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. In total there are 13 islands of which only 5 are inhabited. The tourist center of the archipelago is the Island Santa Cruz, it has a particularly well-developed infrastructure. Further interesting islands from a tourist point of view are San Cristobal, Isabela as well as Floreana.

Satellite image of the Galapagos-Islands


heide14 17.05.2018 17:18

Georgiu 04.11.2017 21:54
Wow !!

jiayi6632013 27.05.2017 13:11

GangsterGang 28.09.2016 12:10
world !